On the evening of 27th November Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival and Oxford Bookstore announced the shortlist for the Prabha Khaitan Woman’s Voice Award which was a joint initiative between aoxfird Bookstore and Prabhab Khaitan Foundation.

This award was a first of its kind award for new voices in women’s writing in India.The award was formally announced by Sundeep Bhutoria,Trustee,Prabha Khaitan Foundation which titled “Women Writers:Shaping a New India”.The dignitory guests were present as jury members was veteran writer Nayantara Sahgal,Urvashi Butalia and Anjum Katyal.

The aim of the award is to recognise and encourage creative writing by women,to help build a network of women writers by creating a forum for their work and to support the publication of new creative writing across India.Jerry pinto,Tishani Doshi,Srijato are also the dignitory jury members for the first round.

The candidates who were shortlisted for the award was Janice Pariat for ‘The Nine Chambered Heart’.Meena Kandasamy for ‘When I Hit U’ or ‘A Portrait of the Writter as a Young Wife’.Ranjani Murali for the ‘Blind Screens’.Selina Sen for ‘Zoom’.Sumana Roy for ‘Missing’.Tashan Mehta for ‘The Liar’s Weave’.

The announcement was followed by a panel discussion session on “The Woman Writer In Today’s India:Who’s Listening?”.It was held as a part of the 10th anniversary celebration of Appejay Kolkata Literary Festival focusing on the journey of woman author in present day.The panel discussion moderated by Anjum Katyal,Director,Appejay kKolkata Literary Festival touched upon the nuances of being a woman writer in contemporary times.

Author Anita Agnihotri,Sreemoyee Piu Kundu, Karuna Ezara Parikh designer and artist Swarup Dutta shared their thoughts.The audience became involved expressing strong views on this contentious topic which made the discussion more engaging and livelier.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here